Friday, April 23, 2010

Coming Up: Bossier Parish School Board Elections

Bossier Parish School Board elections are coming up in just a few months. Every member of the board will be up for re-election.
A lot has changed in the last four years.
Ken Kruithof retired after all of the scandals last year, and the board refused to mount even a regional search for a new superintendent. It was pretty well determined before any applicants were interviewed that D. C. Machen would get the job.
Machen was the Assistant Superintendent for Administration during the time that several employees and a vendor were stealing almost $1,000,000 from the system, a few thousand at a time. The board refused to hold anyone in a management or supervisory position responsible for the debacle. The (now) former employees were all sentenced to prison.
A lot of people were grumbling at the time, and some were outspoken in their criticism of the board, promising to hold them accountable at election time.
We’ll see.
It’s not a good time to be an incumbent in any office at any level. The Tea Party movement is very active in Bossier Parish, and they are out for accountability. Whether that will reach to the school board, I have no idea.
Rumors have been floating that Michael Mosura, the Board President, may run for the state legislature in 2011, the same rumor is making the rounds about Kostelka.
Qualifying will be in July or August, and we’ll find out at that time who’s in and who’s out so far as candidacy. I do predict that there will be more challengers than we have seen in the past.
Below is the current board.

District 1
Jack Raley
P.O. Box 85
Haughton, LA 71037

District 2
Brad L. Bockhaus
111 Harvest Ln.
Haughton, LA 71037

District 3
Dr. Allison Brigham, VP
511 Lee Street
Benton, LA 71006

District 4
Tammy Smith
183 Willow Bend Road
Benton, LA 71006

District 5
Michael S. Mosura II, President
6014 Jason Street
Bossier City, LA 71111

District 6
William C. Kostelka
309 Audubon Drive
Bossier City, LA 71111

District 7
J. W. Slack
2424 Douglas Drive
Bossier City, LA 71111

District 8
Kenneth M. Wiggins
3201 Cloverdale Place
Bossier City, LA 71111

District 9
Eddy Ray Presley
1816 Lee Street
Bossier City, LA 71112

District 10
Julian Darby
1130 Beverly Street
Bossier City, LA 71112

District 11
Lindell Webb
1830 Venus Drive
Bossier City, LA 71112

District 12
Mack Knotts
5007 Kenilworth Drvie
Bossier City, LA 71112


  1. This school board has let Bossier fall far behind other parishes in salaries for employees. They put a man in as super who, as asst. super, should have known what was going on as far as money being stolen by the maint. dept. The best people are not being promoted to admin. jobs. All board members should be replaced.

  2. From my understanding if D. C. Machen ever went to a family reunion, he could hold a personnel meeting at the same time.

    And when the do hold a personnel meeting a few last names are called out several times.


  3. Seems no one cares as i predicted - all the mt's of the world have no influence anywhere

  4. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.


Rules of the road:
1. No personal attacks or insults.
2. No accustory statements about wrongdoing or criminal acts against anyone.
3. Say all you want about the pros and cons concerning the candidates and the issues, or the general subject of the blog post, just follow Rule #1 and Rule #2.